South Africa: 2015 MTV Africa Music Awards Nominees

MTV_Africa_Music_AwardsMTV MAMA 2015 nominations were unveiled Thursday, June 11 at a star studded reception at Harem, Johannesburg, South Africa

A total of 70 nominees were revealed at the event, across 13 different categories.


Best Male

*AKA (South Africa)
*Davido (Nigeria)
*Diamond (Tanzania)
*Sarkodie (Ghana)
*Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female

*Bucie (South Africa)
*Busiswa (South Africa)
*Seyi Shay (Nigeria)
*Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
*Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Group

*B4 (Angola)
*Beatenberg (South Africa)
*Black Motion (South Africa)
*P-Square (Nigeria)
*Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act

*Anna Joyce (Angola)
*Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
*Duncan (South Africa)
*Patoranking (Nigeria)
*Stonebwoy (Ghana)

Best Hip Hop

*Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
*K.O. (South Africa)
*Phyno (Nigeria)
*Olamide (Nigeria)
*Youssoupha (DRC)

Best Collaboration

*AKA, Burna Boy, Da LES & JR: “All Eyes On Me” (SA/Nigeria)
*Davido featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz: “The Sound” (Nigeria/SA)
*Diamond & Iyanya: “Bum Bum” (Kenya/Nigeria)
*Toofan & DJ Arafat: “Apero Remix” (Togo/Ivory Coast)
*Stanley Enow & Sarkodie: “Njama Njama Cow Remix” (Cameroon/Ghana)

Song of the Year

*Cassper Nyovest: “Doc Shebeleza”. (South Africa)
*Euphonik featuring Mpumi:“Busa”. (South Africa)
*DJ Fisherman & NaakMusiQ featuring DJ Tira, Danger & Dream Team: “Call Out” (South Africa)
*K.O featuring Kid X: “Caracara”(South Africa)
*Lil Kesh Featuring Olamide & Davido: “Shoki Remix” (Nigeria)
*Mavins: “Dorobucci” (Nigeria)
*Sauti Sol: “Sura Yako” (Kenya)
*Toofan: “Gweta” (Togo)
*Wizkid: “Show You The Money”. (Nigeria)
*Yemi Alade: “Johnny” (Nigeria)

Best Live

*Big Nuz (South Africa)
*Diamond (Tanzania)
*Flavour (Nigeria)
*Mi Casa (South Africa)
*Toofan (Togo)

Video of the Year
*“Crazy” – Seyi Shay Featuring Wizkid; Director: Meji Alabi
*“Doors” – Prime Circle; Director: Ryan Kruger
*“Love You Everyday” – Bebe Cool; Director: Clarence Peters
*“Nafukwa” – Riky Rick; Director: Adriaan Louw
*“The Sound” – Davido Featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz; Director: Sesan

Best Pop & Alternative

*Fuse ODG (Ghana)
*Jeremy Loops (South Africa)
*Jimmy Nevis (South Africa)
*Nneka (Nigeria)
*Prime Circle (South Africa)

Best Francophone

*DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)
*Jovi (Cameroon)
*Laurette Le Pearle (DRC)
*Tour 2 Garde (Ivory Coast)
*Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone

*Ary (Angola)
*B4 (Angola)
*Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
*NGA (Angola)
*Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)

Personality of the Year

*Basketmouth (Nigeria)
*Bonang Matheba (South Africa)
*OC Ukeje (Nigeria)
*Trevor Noah (South Africa)
*Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)

Nominees for additional categories, including the MTV Base Leadership Award and Best International Act, will be revealed at a later date.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s